_Fours_-_2_-_for_alex.jpg_1 cover

All Fours

All Fours

All Fours


Cal Performances

Zellerbach Hall

View All Performance Listings

Commissioned in part by Cal Performances

Details List

Choreography Mark Morris
Music Béla Bartók - String Quartet No. 4 (1928)
Costume Design Martin Pakledinaz
Lighting Design Nicole Pearce
Instrumentation 2 violins, viola, cello
Number of Dancers 12
Runtime 25 minutes


I. Allegro
8 dancers

II. Prestissimo, con sordino
2 dancers

III. Non troppo lento
4 dancers

IV. Allegretto pizzicato
2 dancers

V. Allegro molto
8 dancers

Press Quotes

  • "…the dance is marked by high contrasts. In the emphatic outer movements, Morris works in tightly furled patterns of energy. [The] dancers, dressed in black, move in crisp, lean formations, springy on their toes, arms scissored behind their backs or clasped upward as if in sudden, fierce prayer."
    San Francisco Chronicle
  • "The work is not so much dated as dateless."
    DanceView Times