MMDG Repertory



June 25, 2015

Tanglewood Music Center

Mark Morris Dance Group - Seiji Ozawa Hall

Lenox, Massachusetts United States

More Performances

Commissioned in part by the Tanglewood Music Center of the Boston Symphony Orchestra in honor of its 75th Anniversary Season.

Mark Morris
Johann Sebastian Bach - Brandenburg Concerto No. 1 in F Major, BWV 1046 (arranged for piano four-hands by Max Reger)
Costume Design
Elizabeth Kurtzman
Lighting Design
Nicole Pearce
piano four-hands
Number of Dancers
21 minutes

Press Quotes

"The choreography in "The" seemed to flow out of the dancers like water or a passing breeze. The movements and the music matched each other seamlessly. So did the flowing costumes, which fluttered each time the dancers moved in unison in small groups across the stage."

- Mass Live

"Those sweetly jubilant duos — male-female, male-male, female-female — said so much, as dance often does, without a word."

- The Boston Globe

"It’s beautiful, it’s wonderfully strange, and — “The” being one of Morris’s friendly frolics — it’s all good."

- The Boston Globe

The mission of the Mark Morris Dance Group is to develop, promote, and sustain dance, music, and opera productions by Mark Morris and to serve as a cultural resource to engage and enrich the community.

Dance Center

© 2019 Mark Morris Dance Group - All Rights Reserved | Privacy Policy | SightWorks Platform