Loading Events
Layla - STILL #8

Mark Morris Dance Group

Dance On! An Evening with the Mark Morris Dance Group Part 2

Online Event

Performances Times

November 12, 2020

8:00 pm


You can watch this event on YouTube.

Works Performed

Empire Garden Mvt. I

Music - Charles Ives

The Lovers’ Demise

Music - Uzeyir Hajibeyli

Promenade Sentimentale

Music - Claude Debussy

Allegro Molto

Music - Conlon Nancarrow


Music - Franz Schubert

We’re celebrating the anniversary of the Mark Morris Dance Group’s debut performance in November 1980 with a livestreamed event featuring new videodances created remotely by Mark Morris in collaboration with Music Director Colin Fowler.

Two videodances are based on Morris’s existing choreography from Empire Garden (to music by Charles Ives) and Layla and Majnun (music by Uzeyir Hajibeyli). Additional videodances to Debussy’s “Clair de Lune” and Conlon Nancarrow’s Piano Sonata (3rd movement, Allegro Molto) from his Studies for Player Piano are entirely new, and feature new approaches to choreographing, including creating the movement before selecting the music, which is rare for Morris. This online event features a guest appearance by Yo-Yo Ma playing the cello and will include an interactive Q&A with Mark Morris.

This event is free, but you’re required to register to access the livestream. A donation of $20 per viewer is suggested for those who are able to give. Thank you!

Watch the trailer