Loading Events

Family Fun Day 2020

Co-Presented with Cal Performances, Berkeley

1:00pm - 3:00pm

Online Event

We joined forces with our friends at Cal Performances for a festive day packed with great online activities for the entire family. All about The Hard Nut, of course!

During two fun-filled hours, you’ll get a chance to learn excerpts of the Snow and Flowers dances from The Hard Nut, taught by former MMDG dancer and Rehearsal Director Sam Black; you’ll sing carols with MMDG Music Director Colin Fowler; and you’ll get to swap holiday cookie recipes with other participants — all virtually, of course. We’ll collect the recipes and distribute a digital The Hard Nut Recipe Book to everyone. Plus, by registering, you’ll be automatically entered into a raffle to win Hard Nut-themed prizes, including a class card for kids or adult classes, a Cal Performances gift card, and The Hard Nut poster signed by Mark Morris!

Bring a festive spirit and your best holiday outfits (ugly Christmas sweaters included). We highly recommend The Hard Nut-inspired costumes!

This event is free, but you’re required to register to access the livestream. A donation of $12 per viewer is suggested for those who are able to give. Thank you!

Schedule

Saturday, December 12, 1-3pm ET (10am-12pm PT)


1:00-1:15pm ET (10:00-10:15am PT)

Welcome
Sarah Marcus, Director of Education at Mark Morris Dance Group
Jeremy N. Geffen, Executive and Artistic Director of Cal Performances
Sam Black, former dancer and Rehearsal Director at Mark Morris Dance Group


1:15-2:30pm ET (10:15-11:30am PT)

Dance with MMDG
Watch and then learn excerpts from the Snow and Flowers dances from The Hard Nut, taught by Sam Black, then take part in a Q&A with Sam. Dance with MMDG is for all levels and abilities, and does not require prior dance experience. We encourage the participation of the whole family.


2:30-3:00pm ET (11:30am-12:00pm PT)

Caroling and Raffle
MMDG Music Director Colin Fowler will lead a holiday sing-along and Sarah Marcus will announce the raffle winners!