Tanglewood Music Center

Seiji Ozawa Hall

View All Performance Listings

Commissioned in part by the Tanglewood Music Center of the Boston Symphony Orchestra in honor of its 75th Anniversary Season.

Details List

Choreography Mark Morris
Music Johann Sebastian Bach - Brandenburg Concerto No. 1 in F Major, BWV 1046 (arranged for piano four-hands by Max Reger)
Costume Design Elizabeth Kurtzman
Lighting Design Nicole Pearce
Instrumentation piano four-hands
Number of Dancers 16
Runtime 21 minutes

Press Quotes

  • "The choreography in "The" seemed to flow out of the dancers like water or a passing breeze. The movements and the music matched each other seamlessly. So did the flowing costumes, which fluttered each time the dancers moved in unison in small groups across the stage."
    Mass Live
  • "Those sweetly jubilant duos — male-female, male-male, female-female — said so much, as dance often does, without a word."
    The Boston Globe
  • "...dazzling mastery of richly harmonious geometries, with rings, arcs and lines moving at different speeds...a baroque vision of the universe in ideal array."
    New York Times
  • "The is one of Morris’s grand statements, a work in which the dancers, all equal in skill, join in a larger effort, a model for human co-existence."